Steven & Cary Stayner: Lives Left in Ruins

The True Crime Times
17 min readAug 27, 2021

Long before I was the least bit interested in true crime, when I was still in pigtails, I watched a movie called “I Know My First Name is Steven.” It was the 1980’s and as a young child, the movie stuck with me and perhaps even traumatized me a bit.

Source: imdb

I didn’t know until decades later that the focus of the movie, Steven Stayner, was not the only famous member of the Stayner family. Sadly, their notoriety is for mostly negative reasons rather than positive ones.

In order to understand the story of Cary Stayner, you must first understand the story of his little brother, Steven, and the impact that his story had on the entire Stayner family.

This is one long-but-fascinating tale that, like the world’s steepest roller-coasters, brings you to the highest heights only to drop you to the lowest lows in stomach-churning fashion.

Steven’s Story

Steven Stayner — Source: Starcasm.net

The 1970’s were a different time. So were the 1980’s. During both decades, it was commonplace for kids to wander all over their neighborhood and play outside until dark. Sometimes, especially in the summer, you’d be gone most of the day, and your parents assumed…

--

--

The True Crime Times

My name is Julie Fidler. I’m a writer, author, wife, and animal lover. I shed light on unsolved mysteries and shocking crimes.